Sections in this article
- Create Breakout Rooms
- Join/Leave Breakout Room as Host
- Send Message to Participants in Breakout Rooms
- End Breakout Rooms
- Start New Breakout Rooms
Breakout Room Options
Create Breakout Rooms
If you click on the Breakout Rooms icon, you can see the options to create the number of breakout rooms you'd like, and the option to assign participants automatically, manually, or allow them to choose. We would recommend auto or manually assigning participants. Then click Create.
Join/Leave Breakout Room as Host
As the Host, once you have created the Breakout Rooms, you can visit a room to check in on the participants. Click on the Breakout Rooms icon, and a pop-up window will appear that says "Breakout Rooms - In Progress." Click the JOIN button for one of the rooms. You will see an alert that asks you to confirm if you'd like to join the room. Click Yes to join.
Once you join the room, you will see the name of the breakout room name at the top of your screen. Example: if you did not change the name of the groups, it should say Room 1, Room 2, etc. so the name will show up as "Zoom Meeting - Room 2."
To leave the breakout room and return to the main session (while participants remain in the breakout rooms), click on the Leave Room button on the bottom right corner of your screen. Then click Leave Breakout Room.
As the host, be careful which button you click when leaving a breakout room. If you click End Meeting for All, the whole meeting will end and all participants will be removed from the meeting. If you click Leave Meeting, you will be removed from the meeting, but participants will still be in the meeting.
Send Message to Participants in Breakout Rooms
As a Host, you can also send a message to all participants in each room. Click on the Breakout Rooms icon, and a pop-up window will appear that says "Breakout Rooms - In Progress." A box will appear in the bottom of that pop up window. Begin typing your message and click Broadcast when you are ready to send it to all participants in the breakout rooms.
End Breakout Rooms
As a Host, you can close all of the breakout rooms and have the participants brought back into the main meeting space. Click on the Breakout Rooms icon, and a pop-up window will appear that says "Breakout Rooms - In Progress." Click Close All Rooms button and a pop up will appear asking if you want to close all of the rooms. Participants will be sent a 60 second countdown to return to the main meeting space. If they do not return on their own, they will be automatically returned to the main session in 60 seconds after you click the button Close All Rooms.
Start New Breakout Rooms
To start another round of breakout rooms, click the Breakout Rooms icon. You will see a pop-up window that says "Breakout Rooms - Not Started."
When doing breakout rooms again during the same meeting, the last used room assignments will automatically be available. If you want the same people in the same breakout rooms again, simply click Open All Rooms.
If you want to change the assignment of which participants are in the breakout rooms together, click on the Recreate button. At this point you again get the choice to Assign automatically or to Assign manually. If you choose to assign the participants manually to rooms, you will need to click on the Assign button and check the box of the participants you want in each room. Once you have assigned all participants to the breakout rooms you'd like, click Open All Rooms.
Visit Zoom Support for more questions about meeting functions: https://support.zoom.us/hc/en-us
Contact HeyPeers Support for any other questions: firstname.lastname@example.org